Dear all,

It is the start of a new school year, and between my attempts to establish residency (I love the state of California and wish to make it my permanent home, in case any of the people in charge of residency read this blog), to learn to teach, and to understand Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods and other things involving more math than I’ve seen since I finished my undergrad thesis, I have had precious little time to spend on issues of grammar. So I apologize, but for the next few months my posting rate will be notably smaller. This should already have been evident by the delay between installments V and VI in Preposterous Apostrophes. And heck, now I’m out of apostrophe-related issues to talk about.

This is where you come in, dear readers. At the end of the day, I sometimes have the energy to write about grammar but not the energy to come up with a topic to write about. Thus I am soliciting suggestions for topics you’d like to see discussed and questions you’d like to have answered about grammar or linguistics in general. Any ideas are welcome; just tack them onto the comments for this post or any other, and I’ll try to address them when the mood strikes me. It’s not a hard task I put before you. Everyone has their little grammar peeves. Now you can find out how justified they are! It’ll be loads of fun! I eagerly await.